Questions (getting started) EDC - PD30r4 vs Quark18650

naiter

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to CPF and I am planning to buy a new everyday carry light and trying to decide what is going to work best.

Are there any rechargeable batteries that work in the PD30 r4? This is the light I really want but I'm fearful of the battery costs.

I'm thinking of going with a Quark + 18650 body.

Here is my story (skip this paragraph to save time):
I'm a low voltage contractor. A couple months ago I purchased a LD20 at Fry's Electronics retail store(all they carry is the LD series). Shortly after I did some online research and found the PD series and the 4Sevens Quarks and learned a little more about what is now becoming my new flashlight obsession. The 265 lumen PD30 r4 was not available initailly, but now they are available again. I know they have a shorter throw but larger beam (than the r2 or r5) which works well for me, but I also recently found out about the 18650 batteries!! which to me seem like "the money". I am worried about the hassle to purchase and cost of the CR123s, using it for work/EDC I burn through the batteries fast, and having the slightly smaller and brighter light(PD30) probably wouldn't stop me from going back to the LD20 since AAs will be cheaper to run than CR123s. The 18650 looks like a great solution. I am guessing that the battery is physically to large for the PD30? The TK12 is nice, but too large for EDC and I am trying to get a brighter and smaller light than the LD20.