Thoughts on the RRT-3?

BeeMan458

Banned
Well, I put my order in. I'm going buy it anyways so might as well get into the pre-order que.

:D

Yesterday received from BOG a RRT-0 and RRT-1. As a noob, I've been smittened by the JetBeam line of flashlights.

My thoughts on the RRT-1 is that it's a thrower that's the equal to the M1X in distance but the M1X has a wider throw at the end of the beam; more flood. What I'm hoping for in the RRT-3, is to have more shadow filling light at the end of the beam. For me, having the shadows well filled in, at a given working distance for the chosen light, is everything. Well filled in shadows, to me, equals safety.

While waiting for the pre-order order to be filled, those who have pre-ordered or will be ordering a RRT-3, what are you expecting out of the beam?

I'm looking for seventy-five to a hundred yards with excellent shadow filling capability.

"You can run but you can't hide, from my flashlight."

:naughty:

Last edited:

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm pretty sure there are beamshots in the RRT-3 thread by Flavio over in the marketplace.

EDIT: Now I can't find 'em..:thinking::shrug:
I coulda swore I saw beamshot comparisons between all the big JetBeams.:confused:

Last edited:

BeeMan458

Banned
Ronin28, I pre-order through Bug Out Gear (BOG).

http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=219809

DaFABRICATA, some beam shots were posted but they were of the pre-production model at 3.5A as opposed to the spec'd out rate of 5A so the M1X beam falsely appears to be the equal of the RRT-3. The RRT-3 will use a single SST-50 emitter as opposed to the Cree M-CE quad emitter in the M1X. So you have no doughnut hole which I expect will create better shadow fill.

http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=219429

The German link below came from the CPF link above.

http://www.messerforum.net/showthread.php?t=83110