driver for a xpg r5 emitter

oldspice10

Newly Enlightened
looking for a small driver (16-17mm) to fit in a keychain host. I currently have direct drive and the current sag is killing me. it runs for 30 seconds before i notice a big drop in output off of one imr16340 battery. let me know what you think! would the KD PIN 1845 work? thanks in advance!!:D

oldspice10

Newly Enlightened
:laughing: sorry, I think the term I was going for was voltage sag. I am still kinda new at this. :eek:

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you are suffering from voltage sag when driving an XP-G with an IMR16340, then I would suspect that your circuit has an excessive parasitic resistance problem. Otherwise, the nominally 3.7V that the IMR can deliver is more than enough to run an XP-G at full power (and beyond). Even at 1500mA drive current, an XP-G's Vf should be only about 3.5V.

Thus, no buck or LDO regulator driver is going to help until you solve the problem causing your voltage drop in direct drive. The Shiningbeam 7135-based driver most likely will not run at full power because the voltage drop you are suffering in direct drive will result in a Vbatt well below what that driver needs to run in regulation.

A boost driver could work, but again, you really should address the apparent parasitic resistance problem first.

RyanA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sag is odd, I've pulled more than 3 amps from one of those before. 1.5 should be fine.

baterija

Flashlight Enthusiast
I currently have direct drive and the current sag is killing me. it runs for 30 seconds before i notice a big drop in output off of one imr16340 battery.