Yet another 'what should I buy' thread - pocket-able flashlight

Lommelygte

Newly Enlightened
Hi all

First post - but I've been browsing the forums for some time.

I'm going to buy a new flashlight, and I would really appreciate your input.

Background: Noob!

Just to show you I'm a total noob, here's why I would like a new flashlight:

For years I've had an old Maglight AA I use for everything from finding the right place to plug things into, on the back of my computer, to carrying in my pocket when I go for a walk, just in case.

I've also had a Maglight 4C for years, that I keep by the fuse box, and use almost daily (for looking for stuff on the attic etc).

I like the build of the Maglights, so a few weeks ago, I got my hands on an brand new Maglight 4D LED, primarily to avoid having to buy new batteries all that often.

But it made me realize how much more (and better) light the LED gives.

I've since taken the LED from the 4D and switched it to my 4C, since the 4D is too big to stand on top of the fuse box.

And now I just hate the miserable light from my AA. I've considered buying a Maglight AA LED, but I know I won't be happy with it - I want something better! :candle:

Here is what I'm looking for

• LED of some sort
  • Pocket-able. Length like the Maglight AA or shorter
  • Build quality at least like a Maglight (metal!)
  • Power preferable like A Maglight (122 lumens?) , on highest setting (I can live with more :grin2:)
  • At least 3 power settings
  • Power switch on end cap
  • Something I can buy in the EU
  • Price range around 100 Euro
  • Known brand (even if I don't know many brands, but if you tell me it's a known, reputable brand, I'll trust you).
I would also like, if possible:

• AA batteries over [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]CR123 (but not a must - I might even prefer say 4 AAA over CR123)
    [/FONT]
  • 1 hour runtime on full power (but I'll settle for a little less for a light that runs on AA :eek:)
  • Ability to stand on end cap