High CRI - SunDrop vs Ra/HDS?

gjg

Enlightened
Hello all:
I'm totally new to High CRI and looking at picking up my first one. I quite partial to McGizmos, so I was looking at the Sundrop XR-U, and for comparison a Ra/HDS 100 lumen High CRI Warm white Clicky or Twisty. I KNOW there are obvious construction differences - the McG is a Ti Jewel, and the HDS is a very nicely made production light, but how are the beams and uses similar/different? Overall output, color rendition, beam angle (wide/narrow), throw, and whatever other functional differences you can think of. I would doubt anybody has both lights, but if you do PLEASE respond! I'm not looking at lighting up treelines 150' away, plenty of other lights for that, but more for close work where having the correct color is important, and just general in the house use at night.

If the HDS basically functions as a poor-mans SunDrop, I'll give it serious consideration, and accept the fact the Haiku and LunaSol 27 won't have a baby brother:shakehead.
Thanks,
Greg :D

kaichu dento

Flashaholic
I have both a SunDrop XR-U and high CRI Ra Clicky and in a word, they should not even be compared. If one fits your exact needs, the other will not.

Not to say that they don't belong in each other's company, but rather the needs they will fulfill are completely different.

maxspeeds

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Sundrop XR-U is a concentrated flood light. The Ra has a traditional beam with a hotspot, corona, and spill. The Sundrop has higher CRI than the Ra. I believe the Nichia 083b has a CRI of 96 and the Seoul P4 a CRI of 93. Also, the Nichia has a higher Kelvin temperature. This means it will be closer to pure white. The Seoul P4 is a warmer temperature at I believe 4000K.

See run4jc's thread for beam differences: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/262391