Lognest throw, tightest beam?

vbmike73

Newly Enlightened
What are some flash lights with the longest throw, tightest beam? Something without a big head, like the size of Fenix TK12.

TriChrome

Enlightened
You're best off looking at Aspherics if the head has to be kept small (since the larger the traditional reflectorized head, the better the throw).

vbmike73

Newly Enlightened
I'm kind of new to all this. Is that a brand? Or a mod? I definitely don't feel comfortable with any mods. Just want something out of the box, to get started at least.

joe1512

Enlightened
Throw is a factor of several things.

First is the emitter. Some are more throwy than others. THe SST-50 is probably the best thrower for a high intensity LED.
Some lights use smaller emitters, but several of them to increase throw.

Second is the type of reflector. You want a SMOOTH reflector, not an OP or orange peel. OP makes the beam look nicer, smooth increases throw.

Third is the size of the reflector. The bigger the reflector, the more throw.

Of course, you want an aluminum reflector, not a plastic one!

Aspherics are a special category of light. Basically they use a special type of optics to tighten the beam. You wind up with a very tight hotspot and little else.

A cheap alternative would be a Romisen Throw-to-flood light. In full throw mode, it does a pretty good job and has a tight beam.

It is worth asking: Whats your budget? What is your use case? Why do you need a high throw light exactly?

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Longest throw, tightest beam. That would be a laser...

As Joe1512 pointed out, what are you going to use the light for? Ashperics throws a VERY narrow beam that is not much use than to showing off the light. There is a reason why no(at least what I'm aware of) production lights use it.
Use and price range would greatly help in finding out what kind of thrower you should get.

Dark Laser

Newly Enlightened
Tiablo produces an aspheric head :D

Just to let you know...