New Poster: CR-123 Shipping and Storage

redware

Newly Enlightened
I recently made my first serious flashlight purchase for myself and the online vendor (an authorized Surefire dealer) threw in some free Surefire batteries...literally. They were tossed in a sealed plastic bag and wrapped in bubble wrap.

Though I am new to quality flashlights, I have done some reading and was under the impression that this is a terrible way to ship CR-123 batteries. Should I be concerned that the batteries are damaged? They look fine but looks can be deceiving.

I also wonder about battery storage. I recently purchased some Pelican cases with foam cutout inserts and am very pleased with them. I got to wondering though; will the batteries vent enough to overpower the case? The pressure valve seems to be at least partially blocked as the foam block fills the case interior. As of now I have the batteries in them and the closing hasp open to allow for venting.

Thanks for helping the new guy.

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic
You say "tossed". Were the batteries wrapped tightly, or were they so loosely packed that they were bouncing against each other when you took them out of the package. Was there sufficient pressure on the batteries via the wrapping that they would not bounce around, in transit? Did you shake the box to see if you could hear or feel them rattling around? I have tested cells that have been loosely stored in drawers, with nothing else around but the same type of cell and I have noticed no damage, shorting out, or whatever.

Bill

redware

Newly Enlightened
I was using a colloquialism but, yes, I could hear them rattle in the box.

rookiedaddy

Enlightened
... online vendor (an authorized Surefire dealer) threw in some free Surefire batteries...literally. They were tossed in a sealed plastic bag and wrapped in bubble wrap.
... They look fine but looks can be deceiving.