Some total noob questions

mikefish

Newly Enlightened
Hi.

A couple of quick questions from a total beginner to LED flashlights.

1 x 3.0v battery is 3v.
2 x 3.0v = 6.0 volts correct ?

A bulb with a range of voltages eg...
3.7-18V
Will it be brighter running more volts up to the max of 18 (assuming 6 x 3.0v = 18v)

If not brighter than what is the advantage / disadvantage to running high volts, or is it just to give a wider range of battery combinations ?

100~200 Lumens

When a range of lumens is given for a 1 mode LED (and i understand the Lumens figure is often overstated) does that mean approx 100 lumens at 3.7v upto 200 lumens at 18 volt ?

What happens if a 3.0v battery is placed in a flashlight with a 3.7v minimum rateing, bulbs runs dimmer and longer ?

and if i put a bulb with an upper limit of say 4 volt in a torch with 2 x 3.0 lithiums = 6.0volt Ill fry it ?

thanks in advance for any answers comments

StarHalo

Flashaholic
1 x 3.0v battery is 3v.

Discounting a bit of internal resistance and load sag, yes, it'll be near 6v

3.7-18V
Will it be brighter running more volts up to the max of 18 (assuming 6 x 3.0v = 18v)

A bare incandescent bulb or unregulated LED, yes. If it is regulated (meaning electronics control battery draw), no.

When a range of lumens is given for a 1 mode LED (and i understand the Lumens figure is often overstated) does that mean approx 100 lumens at 3.7v upto 200 lumens at 18 volt ?

If unregulated, yes. Regulated, no.

What happens if a 3.0v battery is placed in a flashlight with a 3.7v minimum rateing, bulbs runs dimmer and longer ?

If unregulated, the bulb will be dim. If regulated (or most LEDs), it will not light.

and if i put a bulb with an upper limit of say 4 volt in a torch with 2 x 3.0 lithiums = 6.0volt Ill fry it ?

You'll be overdriving the bulb, so it will be brighter, but with much shorter life (if it doesn't pop instantly)

gcbryan

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi.