Newby/Dutch Police-officer in search for brightest ledlight, help?

allewijn

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,

I am an absolute newby, concerning ledlights, but found this beatifull forum, read a lot of reviews and hope you guys can help me:

I am an Dutch Police officer and at this moment I am using a Surefire E2E Executive Elite 'incandescent' light on duty (60 lumens??).
This light isn't 'bright' enough for me/have to use to many CR123a batteries/No 'strobe' function and only one 'brightness setting'

Unfortunately we need to buy our own lights.

So at this moment I'm in search for the best flashlight, costing me not more than max. 70,- euro's.

Read some good reviews about the EagleTac T20C2 Mark II, costs 69,- euro's in The Netherlands and has 300lumens, strobe, comes with a good holster (I need that), different output settings, etc.

I don't know a lot about 'lumens' but I do know I want the most lumens/light as possible (spending max 60 euro's).

Besides the EagleTac T20C2 I also see 'immitation' flashlights that I can buy over here, brandnames like 'Ultrafire'.
Found models with a "Seoul Semiconductors SSC P7-C High Powered LED emitter" saying it gives 900 lumens! Costs only 50 euro's.
Also other cheap models, like the 'UltraFire WF502B' 280lumens for only 30 euro's.

What about these flashlights?
Any good?
Or better to look for a 'well-known' brand (there is a good webshop in The Netherlands, selling models from Surefire, EagleTac, Fenix, Nitecore, Inova, Maglite, etc)

Thanks,

Tim

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Those 900 lumen lights are actually more like 400 OTF (very important) lumens and suck power like a hippy with a joint.

Lumens doesn't always equal good light. Some manufacturers (cheap chinese ones) make spurious claims about their lights runtime and output.

Stick with the known and popular lights recommended by CPFers and you won't go wrong. Brands like Eagletac, Fenix, Olight, Nitecore, 4sevens, Surefire, I know I've missed some.