Modified Angle head and Alkaline VS Lithium Questions?!

Hectic

Newly Enlightened
I'm a noob and have a few different questions. First off, like many people on this site, I just have this thing for collecting (and now modifying) LED flashlights. I started doing basic mods a few years ago, nothing big or complex. Just taking cheap 3AAA flashlights and replacing the LED with better (brighter) ones, things like that. I wanted to make something that would give me a pretty powerful light; more than what any of the 3AAA (4.5v) or 2x CR123A (6v) LED lights could give. So I noticed that Luxeon started selling tri-star emitters. Some of these gave off anywhere from 300lm (100lm per emitter) to 540lm (180lm per emitter)! Each LED emitter took 3.15fv for a total of 9.45fv to run the entire tri-star (approximately). That's a good bit of power, so my options were somewhat limited as to what I could but this LED in. Any light that uses lantern type 6v or something was out because that was too big a size for me. Using small lithium batteries like the CR123A's were out as well since this light would burn through them within a few hours and I wanted something that would have a burn time longer than that.