Another "what police duty light thread" with a twist.

UNM1136

Newly Enlightened
Good morning.

I just spent a tough two days on this forum. I am a police officer in the largest metropolitan area in my state. I have primary jurisdiction in an area that contains buildings, open fields, city streets, etc, and I do a good bit of police work. I have been on 3rd shift (2300-0700) for the last 8 years. For the last 20 years I have had some sort of Surefire with me at all times while working. I drink the kool-aide, but that is OK. My faithful 8AX gave out on me this week. The battery died, and I found out that one of my co-workers broke my charger (damage hard to see, that's what I get for leaving it in the briefing room). The last time my charger was broken it was easy to fix, not so this time. So I have a dead 8 year old B90, and I start doing my homework. A new charger, and battery, would be about $95. Then I find out the spec on the bulb, and take mine out and find that it is the older one, not the current one. While doing so, bulb gets dropped and now I need a $40 bulb. Not a good day out.

Despite its shortcomings my 8AX has been great. 110 lumens for 50 min/charge was adequate, but not great. Like many of my brothers I have been on hour long multi mile canine tracks for bad guys, but I always tucked my backup light in my pocket before we started, and even then, very rarely ran out of juice on my AX. I am not in search and rescue; I use my light tactically, and teach its tactical use. Frequently the 50 minute use will get me through a week. I prefer not to use light for normal, day to day tasks, if there is ANY ambient light out. The bulb, cited here as being rated for 40-50 hours of use has been replaced once in 8 years. It began to appear, that even using Flea Bay, it would cost nearly as much to get my light running as to buy a new one. I got a good light.