Score one for the little guy: Inventor sues Home Depot

jeeves

Newly Enlightened
Unfortunately big businesses enjoy a certain immunity from small claims like this. Luckily someone with some authority saw right through HD's 'Bullet Proof' vest of money/lawyers.

My company is unfortunately being swept under the rug by a large corporation with a response of, "..........., sue us."

Unbelievable to me the way these(types of) people just pass responsibility with no inkling of remorse.

Good for the Inventor. Shame on HD, though I'm not surprised.
I think they'll get/are getting what's coming. They've leased a huge lumber yard (my companies former competitor) for 20 years and it now sits vacant because of the drop in new construction here in Fl.

Last edited by a moderator:

Steve K

Flashlight Enthusiast
as an engineer, I sympathize with the inventor. However, I wonder what agreements he put in place before he disclosed his invention? Was it patented? Did he have any sort of legal agreement with HD to protect his intellectual property? HD will appeal the verdict, and they may not have to pay anything (other than their lawyer fees).

It's very risky to be a small inventor. Even with a patent, the inventor still has to be willing to take a violator to court and spend a lot of money on legal fees to protect the patent.

I hope the inventor triumphs, but the odds are still against him.

regards,
Steve K.

Jack Reacher

Newly Enlightened
Does anybody here have any idea of what constitutes the "safety" device? Any pics?

It's interesting that the inventor originally asked Home Depot for $2K for each device, which — initially at least — sounds like a lot of money.

I guess my question is; was he trying to rip off HD originally by charging them $2K for a $200 device? And no; I'm not trying to defend HD here, just ascertain the actual commercial dollar value of the device.

— Jack. :)

IlluminatedOne

Newly Enlightened