40000mcd 5mm narrow angle white LED anyone has experience/suggestion/recommendation?

2009Prius

Newly Enlightened
Hello, Newbie here. :) I hope this is the correct forum to ask this question. I saw this 5 mm LED on the besthongkong website:

White LED - 20 Degree Clear 40000mcd - 10PCs
[BUWC333W20BA40] $6.93

Does anyone have experience using them?

I am interested in 5 mm (low power, no heat sink) white LEDs that are bright and narrow angle for making daylight running lights (DRLs). Thanks in advance for any suggestion/recommendation.

stephenTheObdurate

Newly Enlightened
I ran across this site because I was looking, unsucessfully, for reasonable 5mm white 5 to 10 degree LEDs and couldn't help answering. I'm probably repeating information that's already covered elsewhere, sorry.

I have been designing automotive LED lighting for some time now and have never seen a 20 degree 5 mm LED anywhere near 40 cd. Perhaps this is not a 5mm LED. There is no free lunch. There is a limit to LED efficiency. The only to increase brightness is to reduce the half angle or increase the power and the current is limited to 25 or 30 mA continuously for 5mm LEDs. You can of course increase the current significantly and the LEDs will work for awhile, which may be a bunch in some applications.

The lifetime of a car is considered to be 4000 hours (200k miles at 50 mph as I see it) so you you can knock quite a bit off the standard 100k LED lifetime. However, I haven't found any good information on the effect of overcurrent on LEDs, that is do all fail quickly, or a higher percentage fail. The specs say a certain percentage drop below 50% or 70% brightness over their lifetime. It doesn't say whether they are 1% below the threshold or off. I also know that ambient temperatures can get fairly high inside a housing so I don't push the specs.