Dereelight DBS SST-50 battery questions (newbie here)

Blerv

Newly Enlightened
First I would like to say thanks for any help you can provide a newcomer. I did quite a bit of searching but some of this is over my head. :(

Im shopping for my first multi-battery light and have settled for a DBS SST-50 (It is a 3sm). I'll also be getting the aspherical and R2 pill so I have plenty of light options.

I'd rather sacrifice run time for two RCR123 sized batteries and get the extension tube for 3 of them for more run time. My questions:

1.) are IMR123s good in the 2 config for this? Would 3 be ok as well? Or would TWO protected rcr123s set be better? (Edit: I typo'ed that...sorry!)

2.) when switching to the r2 pill will I need to change batteries to avoid a *poof* LED or will the IMR's just have a huge increase in run time.

(I'm just running 2 IMR 123/16340's and taking the run-time hit. This is working great for the R2/Asph head too. I did get the 3-batt tube instead of the 18650 tube and it makes it a bit longer but I'm with Henk on that one...I prefer it being shorter. Flash Crazy did say it wouldn't be wise to run 3-16340's with this pill.)

I really appreciate any insight you can give. I promise to learn this stuff as quick as I can read up :)
(Thanks again!)

Have a great weekend,

Blerv

Last edited:

Henk_Lu

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

I only use IMR in multi-cell lights as they are more secure than li-ions, they have less capacity though. There is no problem in using two or more IMR, just be sure which pill you order.

As you want to have a DBS SST-50, you are limited to the SM-pill, the SST50 doesn't exist in SD. There are no specs of the SST-50 on Dereelight's website, normally the 1SM pill is good from 3,4-16V and the 3SM from 3,4-9V. If you use 123 sized cells, you'll be limited to 3 of them, in practical use to 2 of them. The extension tube is for 4 x 123, 3 x 18500 or 2 x 18650.