Newbie needs AA work light

airecon

Newly Enlightened
I'm fairly new to all this, I have a Princeton Tec Torrent and Tec 40- I like both lights, but the Torrent takes too many batteries (8). I'm looking for a light no bigger or smaller than those - I'll use it at work around cars to look under a dash or inside a door panel. I would like to use eneloops, but I can use alkalines if I have to. Here's a few I'm thinking of.

Dorcy Cyberlight, Duracell Daylite and Streamlight Propolymer 4-AA. I like the the looks and shape of the first two the best, but I've read good things about the Streamlight.

I've also read good things about the Fenix Tk20, but it's a little pricey, but I could go for it.

Any advice on these lights or suggestions on others. I'd like to stay under $35.00.

Thanks

matt4270

Newly Enlightened
The Tk20 is a great light. I have one and love it, but it's on the bulky side. Look at Fenix LD10 or LD20's (1 and 2 AA respectively) or a Quark AA or AA2 from 4sevens. For around $50-$55, you'll have a great light that's a keeper, instead of a part of an expensive learning curve! Batteryjunction is a good source as well. Good luck!

matt4270

Newly Enlightened
Try a Quark Mini AA or Quark AA (non-tactical) from 4sevens, or a Fenix LD 10, or a Nitecore D10 from Batteryjunction. The TK20 is great, but maybe a little bulky.

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Go with the Fenix or Quarks. The extra cost over those slightly cheaper lights is well worth it for the benfits of a properly regulated light that comes with a good warranty.

I've got both the TK20 and Quark AA2 Tactical and both lights are great.

The TK20 has a very tight hot-spot, the Quark has a more floody hot-spot (still rather throwy).

If I had to choose only one it would be the Quark as it's far more versatile with the output options.

Locoboy5150

Flashlight Enthusiast