WOW where do I start?

trlcavscout

Newly Enlightened
Another newbie here. Until a couple weeks ago I though a mag light was a great light, now I have seen the light! I took a job doing security at night and thought my mini-mag (older one, not even LED) would work, I was wrong. After being around some "good" lights I am now on a search for a "really good light". I bought a streamlight polytac, good light for $40 I think, but now I want more! I cant afford a high end light so I came here to learn all I could. I would like to try a mod or build, to save money and to have fun and learn. Hopefully I will find all the info I can handle plus some. Any links or info on a DIY BRIGHT light? Thanks!

trlcavscout

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: WOW wear do I start?

hi and :welcome:

depending on your budget there are many possibilities for you. You could go the LED route by getting an aftermarket dropin for a Maglite 2D or other sized maglite, or what i did was to get 3xAA to 1D cell adaptors for my maglite 3D and use a 6D bulb for brighter output.

You could also wait a bit as Bryan from Shiningbeam is probably going to launch a new light, the MG RX-2 which is a SST-50 neutral white tinted LED light that runs off rechargeable li-ion cells (18650) with 3 modes to balance output and runtime. The RX-1 had an output of 700 lumens (more likely 450+ actual lumens after taking into account loss of output due to lens and reflector absorption) which was very respectable and comes in a small powerhouse package.

Enjoy your stay here, though your wallet may suffer :crackup:

LightJaguar

Enlightened

:welcome:

Well you don't have to build the whole flashlight. You can put one together from different parts. For example you can get a Surefire C2 and drop in a Malkoff M60 or M61 if you can get one. Buy some RCR123 and a charger and you are good to go. However that build will probably cost you over $100. Its well worth it though.