Quick Quark AA question.

tcr03

Newly Enlightened
if i were to get a Quark AA R5 and get a spare 18650 body. does anyone know the max lumens and runtime would be with that battery.

thanks in advance
matt

tcr03

Newly Enlightened
sorry for that. the pics in the review dont show up on the computer im using. so i was just hoping someone could just type the stats out for me.

sorry for the inconvenience

RedForest UK

Flashlight Enthusiast
As the heads have different max input voltages I'm not sure that the AA version would be compatible with 18650 cells as their peak voltage is 4.2v. I'm not an expert on the exact quark limits but especially if it's the single AA version I would think that using 18650 cells would risk making your light go:poof:

Henk_Lu

Flashlight Enthusiast
No Quark head goes :poof: on a single cell. There are only two heads, the common low voltage head which runs between 0,9V and 4,2V and the high volatge head of the 123-2 which needs 3,0V and accepts 9,0V.

The output should be 170 Lumen OTF on a li-ion, same as the AA-2 or the 123. As for the runtime, I have no real idea, but it should be around 2,5 hours on turbo, depending on your cell of course!

ky70

Banned
As the heads have different max input voltages I'm not sure that the AA version would be compatible with 18650 cells as their peak voltage is 4.2v. I'm not an expert on the exact quark limits but especially if it's the single AA version I would think that using 18650 cells would risk making your light go:poof:

Shouldn't a 18650 body/battery work without issue (conceptually) with the AA head if the head has a working volatge up to 4.2V? I know there would be a problem using 2 li-on batteries in a 4.2v head but I thought any single cell li-on should be within specs.

tcr03

Newly Enlightened
The output should be 170 Lumen OTF on a li-ion, same as the AA-2 or the 123. As for the runtime, I have no real idea, but it should be around 2,5 hours on turbo, depending on your cell of course!