Nitecore Smart Piston Drive question

arnoldr

Newly Enlightened
Hello. I'm a newbie that has just started the path to becoming a flashlight junkie. I've read a lot of praise for the Nitecore's smart piston drive. How great it works, quiet operation, and the form factor that it provides (small). I've also read a lot of negative things abut it. How temperemental and unreliable they can be. "They are great if the PD is working" comments is not something I would like to hear.

My question is, "Is this issue limited to the 1st gen piston drive"? Does the new design (SP models) suffer the same fate ??

I would really like to add one of these Nitecores to my stable of lights.

arnold r.

Batou00159

Enlightened
I belece nightcore adressed many of ther issues but as with anyithing thers always a chance.

I have had my (D10R2i.b.s)for some time now and it has worked perfectly since the day i got it despite being abused:eek:

In my op they are brilliant and a must have:thumbsup: oh and :welcome:

antikythera

Newly Enlightened
As far as I can tell, the opposite is actually true; the older models seem to have been more robustly built than the SP-era models. That said, (despite owning an initial release R2 for about a year, and loving it) the current crop of Nitecore products appears to be a mixed bag, with regards to both corporate practice and internal quality control.

Again, it seems to be hit-or-miss nowadays. I have had absolutely no problems with mine, but many others report having received lemons, or having their lights suddenly, inexplicably stop working after a few months after purchase. There appears to be a high lemon rate, but those that receive products that work seem to really like theirs.