Any suggestions for a noob.

Brin

Newly Enlightened
Hi all.
I'm new at this but quite interested.
Soon when I finish my studies I will be returning to my home country to join the police there again.

Thing is that I have always felt that the 2AA maglight that we are supplied with there is to weak to be of any good use.

I am looking for a small light for my equipment belt that has a powerful and somewhat centered beam.
I have been looking at the surefire E1 and E2 models.

If anyone has any experience or suggestions it would be great.

SUREFARC

Enlightened
Hi Brin,welcome!
I don't own any of E series, but I have heard
a lot more praises for E2E than E1,E2.For a police officer, I do think a combat grip would
be great. So how about a G2Z? Not too expensive,
very practical. If you don't like Polymer and prefer aluminum ones,there are C2,Z2,M2.What do you say?

hotfoot

Flashlight Enthusiast
Brin, Welcome To The CPF!

You certainly can't do wrong buying an E2 (an E1 may not be bright enough for an LEO). And if utility is all you're after, try going for the other faves as well:

- Streamlight Scorpion
- the Taclites

Or if you're really on a budget, try the Legend LX. Its cheap enough so that if you don't like it, it won't hurt your pocket. And it'll always be an excellent backup light.

Beware though - most of these lights use lithium CR123 cells, so it might expensive running these lights, depending on how and where you buy them.

LED lights are coming into the picture, but its not likely that you'll find one off-the-shelf that will match the size/cost performance of a good incandescent. Perhaps if you are adventurous, you could persuade one of the excellent modders on the CPF to sell you a 5-watt white luxeon-based mod - the only LED flashlights available anywhere that can match or surpass an E2's performance in a compact package.

Good Luck with your flashlight search!

Roy

Farewell our Curmudgeon Administrator