WA 1160 Bulbs

Battery Guy

Enlightened
Greetings Everyone

I have searched CPF, but have not been able to find an online source for WA 1160 bulbs. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Battery Guy

Battery Guy

Enlightened
They have been discontinued by WA. Litho123 had some for awhile, but apparently has sold out. See his comments in post 1, updated in April. http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=197754

Do you like the 1160 because of it's relatively low voltage, a four cell bulb (NiCd, or NiMh), that does well with 5 cells?

Bill

I have several Energizer Double Barrel 8AA Flashlights that I would like to mod. These apparently used a Welch Allyn #01288 rated at 5.5volts, .70 amps, 80 lumens. For those who don't remember these flashlights, they have a 4s2p configuration. Using lithium AA cells, I figured that I could step up to the WA 1160 bulb.

However, as I am very new to this hobby, I am happy to hear other alternative mods for this flashlight.

Cheers,
Battery Guy

Dioni

Flashlight Enthusiast
Try "WA1160" without spaces. Did you try the google search above?
It should show all the thread wich have these words if you keep the "CPF only" option marked!

Cheers,
Dioni

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic
You are looking at about 6X the output (lumens) of the stock Double Barrel, with a lot of heat associated with plastic parts. Look for a lower current 6 volt bulb.

Bill

lemlux

Flashlight Enthusiast
The switch and plastic lamp holding assembly on the energizer DB6AA and DB8AA lights can't handle even 2 amps for any significant time. The reflector can't handle more than about 9 watts for any period of time.