E2D Defender LED Mod

Aircraft800

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm looking to mod a SureFire E2D Executive Defender to LED.

I'd like it to stay the same size, so a stock head, and use 2X 123A batteries.

I think a Cree XP-G would be a nice match for this old dog. I have seen a very nice tutoral by Don McLeish (McGizmo) here:
E2d modified with new "E-screw"/E-can module and so17xa reflector

But can't find the "E-screw" and "E-Can" needed. I plan on using a XP-G specific reflector like the Ledil 19mm XP- C11347 Regina reflector.

The Shoppe has a E-Sink, but I can not find any build info, or if this would be a good match for a XP-G run with a DownBoy 1000 converter for more than a minute or so.

I'm new to SureFire mods, so help with links and or pictures is much appreciated!

darkzero

Flashaholic* ,
The Shoppe has a E-Sink, but I can not find any build info...

There has to someone who has used these parts?

The E-Sink is quite old & many may not even know what it was....

I've done some builds with them. The E-sink was designed to be used in E-series incans paired with a E-can, both of which are McGizmo's creations. However the E-series head needs the internal post cut off & the reflector opening drilled out. I believe this was the prototype.

The E-sink had a recess which was designed to be used with a Luxeon Side Emitter. Without the recess as if the emitter were to sit flush with the top of the heatsink a high dome/lambertian Luxeon could be used. I believe they all had the recess though. IIRC, the first ones were blue then black, & the last batch in red. I still have two "E-Sinks" without the recess that were made by someone a long time ago who's name I can't remember.