Employment Dilemma

NightKids

Enlightened
Basically I think I need a change. I've been in the payroll/hr field for about 4 years now and just recently started a new job in the same area. I don't think i particularly enjoy it anymore, it's just the same repetitive stuff everyday. I know a job aren't supposed to be fun but i'm just sick of this field.

I have an advanced diploma in IT, which I decided wasn't for me after i finished school. Now i'm seriously considering having a crack at IT as another option. I'm even considering starting my own business, but it always seems like sucha long shot...

I think the biggest problem is that I don't even know what I want to do as a career. All my interests are not practical career wise! I'm not sure if I'm naturally a lazy person or I just haven't found a job I love. I've always thought it's weird when people say "Man I love my job!" cause I've never felt that way about any job & I only do it cause I have to...

If anyone can give me any advice/suggestions on what I should do that would be greatly appreciated. (I have a mortgage if that changes anything).

I've once worked at a company where they just come in, sit down and crunch timesheets. The people there don't talk to anyone, have lunch at their desk by themselves, etc. They will even walk faster when they see me so they don't have to say HI. Is this how a work environment is supposed to be? Cause I'm sucha sociable person it just seemed so weird to me...

Is there such a thing as a dream job? I've never felt like that's possible or maybe I haven't found it yet. When I get depressed over my job I think of get rich quick ideas or I dream about winning lotto or a big poker tournament.

Last edited:

jtr1962

Flashaholic