my thoughts on my new sst50 light.

bigfish5

Newly Enlightened
Monday i received my mg p-rocket. I must say it is a very sturdy and handsome light. Well built for sure. I went with the "nuetral" version. Everything about the light is good except i am a little dissapointed in the output. Now with that said i am no expert. I have owned about 6 high end led lights. This light has a yellow beam. I would think it was more warm than nuetral. I understand that it has a very big hotspot and that disperses the light and all but it just doesnt seem all that bright. I ran a little test tonight , not scientific mind you ,but a test. I thought. hey if this thing is putting out 500otf lumens then it should light up the whole swimming pool. Well with the combination of the yellow light and the output it didnt do that good of a job " holding light in about a foot of water". I got my old eagletac t100c2 that claims an output of 220 lumens and it lit up the whole pool. Now some of that is probably because of the 'WHITER" light, and maybe some because of the tighter beam.

I guess what i learned tonight is i like the whiter , brighter light, Maybe this p- rocket isnt as bright as it should be, i am using an aw 2200 mah 18650, if i had it to do over i would buy this light but i think i would go with the white and see if the output was more impressive. Overall i have to say this is a handsome and well built light though, make no mistake there.

PayBack

Enlightened
Yup which is why I went for the 6500k version, to me they LOOK a lot brighter than the warmer versions, even when they're not.

However from what I've been reading here, I believe not only does it look like you lose some lumens, you actually do.

MichaelW

Flashlight Enthusiast
Is your lens/window dirty?
Someone said that the reflector comes out, and then you can clean (or replace) the lens. I haven't attempted that, yet.

Is there anodizing left on the body contact?
Is the inner spring bent?
Was your 18650 charged up?