Work Flashlight

udt89

Newly Enlightened
So I work in law enforcement, lets put any personal opinions or experiences aside, and I need a second flashlight.

I carry a stinger on my duty belt and I would like a larger flashlight to keep in the car that I can carry, also having some weight to it if I need to break a window or anything like that.

Those HID lights look great, but I also dont want to be replacing a $100 bulb twice a year.

So I'm looking for help. Im thinking of sticking with streamlight so I can use the same car/home charger and just buy the light, but I'm not sure on if they are making the brightest lights out there.

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast

Dr. J

Newly Enlightened
So I work in law enforcement, lets put any personal opinions or experiences aside, and I need a second flashlight.

I carry a stinger on my duty belt and I would like a larger flashlight to keep in the car that I can carry, also having some weight to it if I need to break a window or anything like that.

Those HID lights look great, but I also dont want to be replacing a $100 bulb twice a year.

So I'm looking for help. Im thinking of sticking with streamlight so I can use the same car/home charger and just buy the light, but I'm not sure on if they are making the brightest lights out there.

I assume that you have an ASP or PR-24 or something like that, right? For auto (side and rear) glass, a spring-loaded window punch costs about $10, so my opinion is that you should not let the need to break glass drive your flashlight decision.

Get a 2-level LED of some sort (you don't always need blindingly high output) that uses the lithium-ion batteries that are favored by many here. Get 2-3 batteries and a charger you can put in your car. Every time you use the light for more than a minute or two, change out the battery with the one in the charger, so that you always have the full capacity of the lithium-ion at your disposal (and so that the batteries last you YEARS of service).