Shortwave radio Q's

TOB9595

Enlightened
Shortwave radio Q\'s

I have a hankering for trying out SW listening. On a cheap scale, thank you.
North East USA New jersey receiving area.
I just got a Grundig crank that I wanted for the crank, am, fm, sw ability.
I also want to get a somewhat better receiving portable.
I'm lookin at
Degen 1101
Sangean 803
Tecsun 2000
These are less than $100.
What can I expect from these units as far as receiving ability. What can I expect to receive?
I'm a total Newbie with no experience.
What is the value to getting the 2004 version of "Passport to World Band Radio" versus a previous year? 2003, etc. How far back is the book useful? 1990's?
Any other brands I should consider?
Anuy question I didn't ask?
Observations?
Tom

Empath

Flashaholic
Re: Shortwave radio Q\'s

Go to Grove Enterprises' site. You'll find a lot of helpful information there. Pay particular attention to the "Monitoring Times" link. I've found Grove to be trustworthy for years.

Pellidon

Flashlight Enthusiast

I have a Grundig yatchboy 300 and it does a decent job for it's size with an external wire antenna. I also have a Sangean 505 that can pull down some weaker signals. I think tecsun is either grundig or sangean in another brand but I don't remember which. I am in the midwest (Indianapolis) and have received even some pirate stations, barely. I have gotten english language brodcasts from dozens of countries. It is neat to get a different aspect on things.

The passport book is a good buy but the information can be dated. Transmission times and frequencies change. Most of the big broadcasters are stable in regards to keeping the same settings over years. Monitoring Times and Pop Communications are better for the most current data. The 2003 book should be good though.

TOB9595

Enlightened

Sheesh, Like all cool things in life, there's so many levels /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif