advice on chosing a SST 50

MTL-TL

Newly Enlightened
Hi, Im looking for a EDC light, size of a JB RRT-2 or so with a SST-50 emitter. I'm not very experienced in this so I dont know all the terminologies. It should be a decent built quality, I dont care about multiple modes but I would take it anyway. Something around 800 to 1000 lumens. :D A good mix of throw and flood. I have a JB RRT-1. Love its throw but head is too big to carry in pocket and not enough spill. So if you guys have something in mind along these lines please chime in. I'd appreciate.

MTL-TL

Newly Enlightened
Not that many Lumens - but Mac's EDC in 2.8 amp - suggest the warm over the cool. Review that Run4JC did in LED section I think showed ~500 lumens. I don't think you can get much more out of 1 imr 16340.

I'll look into it. How does its beam profile compare to MG P. Rocket's beam profile. This is the one I'm looking at right now but open for alternatives .

Kremer

Enlightened
I have the shiningbeam P-rocket. I don't think you are really going to get any better of a beam while still fitting in your pocket. it has plenty of spill and a big bright and even hotspot. I had mine out in the yard last night, the low is quite nice, medium is more than plenty, and high just made me laugh and wonder when the neighbors would start looking out the windows.

Bryan is coming out with a SST-50 version of the RX-1 soon, bigger reflector = tighter beam but not really EDC material, like your RRT-1.

Last edited:

kengps

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'll look into it. How does its beam profile compare to MG P. Rocket's beam profile. This is the one I'm looking at right now but open for alternatives .