Lighting for 14 hour race

mikkowus

Newly Enlightened
Over the last 2 years I have done an all night, 14 hour 130 mile canoe race, The first time I did it I used a maglight and a nightrider trailrat combo. we used the maglight for continous use and the trailrat for the bad stuff. the maglight was approx 40 lumens and the nghtrider was around 190 lumens. As you can guess, for 8 hours it was a heavy and not a fun setup.

The next year I started this thread and got some good suggestions in the end a friend loaned us a cygolite TridenX LED Li-Ion X. It worked awesome. I find it a bit fishy though, I cant even find out what emitter it uses.

Im guessing some of you guys have great experience with lights. What sorts of lights would you suggest?

The light needs to last at least 7 hours, it needs to run continuously at 100-200 lumens and be able to jump to 400 lumens from time to time.

I am a student so my budget is limited to approx 150$

Some lights I have in mind are...
fenix tk40

that cygo tridenx I can get it for cost at 130$

A niterider at cost

Dare I think about a magicshine again with multiple battery packs?

Could someone buy me something like this for my birthday?

Do you guys have any other suggestions?

Last edited:

mikkowus

Newly Enlightened
Lighting for a 14 hour all night race.

woops!

Last edited:

SuperTrouper

Enlightened
If you got by with a <200 lumen light before, how come you need a 400 lumen capable light this time?

mikkowus

Newly Enlightened
Lighting for a 14 hour all night race.

repost! must of been tired

Last edited:

DM51

Flashaholic
Re: Lighting for a 14 hour all night race.

You have cross-posted this identical thread in 3 sub-forums (all now merged here). Duplication of this kind just causes confusion and annoyance all round, and is not permitted. Please read Rule 9.

Last edited:

Offroad'Bent

Enlightened