Had anyone replaced the glass of Fenix TK10?

alan98vw

Newly Enlightened
Hello all :wave:, I been reading the CPF forum over 3 years before I joined the CPF, this is my first thread. Today I dropped my TK10 on the floor from my waist and the glass just shattered (it had been dropped so many times and just a few scratches). Wondered had anyone replaced the glass before and where do you guys the glass from? I bought my TK10 and AW RCR123 from 4sevens.com more than 3 years ago, and checked his www site today and didn't see any glass replacement.
I am an avionics technician and almost use the TK10 every working day to inspect instrument on bench or aircraft in the hangar. Any help would be very appreciated. Oh, and thanks for all the CPF members that posted the TK10 reviews on CPF to help me choose this light.

ti-force

Flashlight Enthusiast
Have you attempted to open the head yet? I tried briefly to open mine up once without success, although I wasn't really trying, if you know what I mean. I believe they use some type of thread locker on the locking ring. If I were you, I would try to find a tool suited for the job (needle nose pliers maybe), and attempt to remove the locking ring first before you spend money on replacement glass that you can't install. I think you can get it open by applying heat with a heat gun, but I recommend you try it first for the previously stated reason, and so you can measure the ID of the bezel or the opening size that the glass has to fit through to get to the bezel. Also, the way this light is designed, it looks like it would be easy to accidentally scar the threading trying to remove the locking ring.