Hi, noob here need some help

riuz426

Newly Enlightened
Hi, im new to this forum but have been using it to do some research on my future flashlight purchase. I have been reading the reviews of a particular forum member called "selfbuilt", I am trying to decide between these two lights (or another if anyone has a better suggestion). The Olight M20S "warrior" and the JETbeam rrt-2 raptor. I am leaning toward the Olight M20s because it has more lumens (320) and also a belt clip vs 240 for the JETbeam and no belt clip. But the thing is i dont really know what to compare those lumens to as I've never owned a flashlight that advertised lumens. Sorry for the long post and any help is appreciated.

Last edited:

maskman

Newly Enlightened
First, welcome to CPF. Someone will surely come along with a better answer than I offer, but I'll try my best. I think it's going to come down to deciding if you want a light for throw or flood. The Olight M20 your referring to has an XPG-R5 emitter. The JetBeam RRT-2 has an XR-E R2 emitter. The XPG's trait is prone to more flood and less throw than an XR-E R2. Granted the M20 advertises more lumens and if a light with plenty of flood is what your after then thats great. A lux measurement tells how well light is projected over a distance, the higher the number the better the throw. The JetBeam RRT-2 measures in at 14,900 lux. The M20 with an R2 emitter is 11,200 lux. I haven't seen the lux figures on an XPG-R5 in the M20, but if history repeats itself the figure will be even less. If someone shows up with beamshots to the contrary I will gladly shelf my RRT-2 and purchase an M20 with the XPG.

I have to agree about the clip to some degree. A clip would be handy on the RRT-2. I must admit the RRT-2 is a bit large for pocket carry though and a holster works quite well. In the meantime don't take everything I've said as gospel. Someone may even post some comparison beamshots of the two lights your interested in.

riuz426

Newly Enlightened