New Preon II Ti Black questions

KarlMaldensNose

Newly Enlightened
I didn't include fact that I'm still a noob in the title b/c those never get answered, but I am. Sorry.:eek:

Anyway, just got the Ti Black edition and am a bit disappointed with a couple things. The loose tailcap issue is being dealt with in another thread. But there's also the bit of letdown I experienced when I clicked onto high mode for the first time. I had been reading about how 4Sevens' advertised lumen ratings are out-the-front, as opposed to, say, Fenix's lumen ratings, which are apparently at the emitter. I use Fenix as an example because I am comparing the Preon II to my older Fenix PD20, which has a max lumen output rating of 180. I've read (on this forum) that the difference is even as high as 40%. That seems a bit much, but still, there should be at least a little bit of a noticeable difference. But I'm finding that the Preon's high mode of 160 OTF lumens is only marginally brighter than the PD20's high (at emitter) of 96 lumens. And the PD20's turbo mode of 180 lumens completely blows away the Preon's 160. I'm completely stumped by this. Do batteries make a difference in the Preon II? I'm running the Duracell coppertops that came with it, and in the PD20 I have a Surefire CR123. Would li-ions make a difference in brightness?

By the way, I am aware of the subjective nature of my observations and perception of "brightness". I also understand that the Preon II beam has more flood and less throw than the PD20, which is somewhat affecting my perception of how much brighter the Fenix is. But still, even keeping those things in mind I still maintain that the Fenix is either much brighter than it ought to be or the Preon isn't as bright as it should be.

Can someone please school me on this? Thanks.

Enlightened