Asking for general purpose light suggestions (over 1000lm OTF)

cartmanidis

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I am a long time lurker here, and I decided to post because I am really baffled and would like some help regarding a general purpose high powered light (>1000lm OTF).

My current lights are a Fenix P3D-Q5 Premium and a Lumapower D-mini VX Ultra, so I am covered on the EDC front.

Because this summer I will go camping and fishing, I have found that I need a really powerful light that gives at least double the lumens of my D-mini VX Ultra, has some nice throw and spill, and is usable as a "lantern" in order to illuminate a room or boat or camping area. My more detailed requirements are:

• >1000lm OTF
  • Modular would be a huge plus, but I am a total noob so I would need detailed instructions regarding parts (btw where can I find an introduction to the world of lego lights, stuff like hosts, drop-ins etc?)
  • Regulated output and 3 levels would be preferable
  • Fatter is better than really long
  • Reasonably water proof
  • Reasonable throw and useful spill
  • Able to light-up an area using a diffuser or by unscrewing the head
  • No preference between single or multi-led
Thanks for your time, I am really looking forward to hearing your suggestions :)

ebow86

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome: First off, any light putting out 1000 lumens is not considered a "general purpose light". You didn't specify your budget but finding a light that puts out 1000lumens is going to be expensive and far between. If you want that much power you need to start looking at HID lights. I would reccomend you take a look at Fenix TK45. It's just been released and has gotten very good reviews and is rated at 760 lumens. Everyone here is going to agreed that is MORE than enough light for virtually any application. Hope this helps

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've got a 2000 lumen light I bought for $50 that lasts about 10 minutes per charge (useless).