Newbie here: Best Bang for the buck( small LED flashlight)?

Hole Shot Weapon

Newly Enlightened
New here and I am looking for advise on the best bang for my buck for (mini mag) sized LED Flash light. I am and aircraft mechanic and I previously had a steamlight jr. but I lost it. I like the size of it and don't want to go much bigger in physical size. The performance of it was pretty good, but like most people on here I am looking for greener pastures. I like the idea of AA ans AAA's rather than CR 123's but am still open to opionion's. I wouldn't mind something brighter but I don't want something that is really bright with a short run time. I need to find a happy medium.
The stream light jr. wasn't bad IMO and I would buy another, but what do you guys recommend? I wouldn't mind Stepping it up!

Cheers!

P.S. Money isn't an issue as it is essential for my line of work, I want Quality and Performance rather than saving a few bucks.

Flint&Steel

Newly Enlightened
The Land of Beautiful Women, Fast Horses, and Smoo
:welcome:

Since you're looking for AA or AAA, I'd suggest:

Quark AA or AA-2 (I have a 123-2T and love it)
Jetbeam Jet 1 Pro (just received it today and am patiently waiting for the dark--the build quality seems nice) or
Zebralight SC-50 (don't own one, but they seem to be well received on CPF)

All of the above lights (except the AA-2) are rated for 14500 Li-ions if that's important to you.

Good luck in your search.

Flint

jimmy1970

Flashlight Enthusiast
For your intended use, I would suggest one of the Quark line. The quality of these little lights is great. With 4sevens lights, you will always have the latest emitters. Stick with the AA2 model for high output with long runtimes.

I prefer the UI of the Tactical model with a forward clicky and two output levels (both programmable) - simple and effective!

James....:)

Hole Shot Weapon

Newly Enlightened