Categorize Flashligt brands by quality

Status
Not open for further replies.

Viking

Enlightened
I am quite new to this hobby. So will someone please help me with the basics.

If you should place the brands in the categories below , how would you place them.
I know there will be different opinions , but thats okay.

Category 1. The very best quality

Category 2. Top quality

Category 3. good quality

Category 4. average quality

Category 5. junk

By quality I mean switches that will keep working after extensive use , build quality , durability , etc.
Price is not an isue.

nbp

Flashaholic
There are a lot of brands out there, it's a big job to list them all. Do you have any specific brands in mind?

Otherwise just a few popular brands around here:

Surefire, Ra/HDS, Arc, Peak, Muyshondt, are usually regarded as very high quality. Of course, many custom builds like McGizmo, Milky, dropins from Malkoff, Nailbender, Moddoo all very respected. (I know I'm missing tons guys, so add more, I'm just tossing out a few)

Other high quality but foreign made stuff might include Jetbeam, Fenix, Olight, Zebralight, Nitecore.

I don't really have much experience with the budget lights, maybe someone else can pop in. Just a few names to get you started. If you have specific brands you are comparing that would be easier.

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
I know you don't mean it to be but this thread will hit argument stage in about 20 posts and get locked by a mod.
People get touchy about flashlight quality threads.

Hopefully I will be wrong and we can all act like adults.

Last edited:

Viking

Enlightened
There are a lot of brands out there, it's a big job to list them all. Do you have any specific brands in mind?

Thanks for the answer.
I don't expect you to list them all , just a few brands are fine.
No I don't have any specific brands in mind.
The only brands I know a little bit of are Surefire , maglite , Led lenser and Fenix.

lovenhim

Enlightened