another noob ?

Buckles

Newly Enlightened
I just ordered a Solarforce L2r body but I have no idea what Im going to/should put in it. I would prefer to run it on lithium AAs as this will probably be going in the storm kit, i dont want to have to worry about charging since the power will most likely be out if i have to use it.

I was thinking of doing a 3 mode, but a single mode would probably suit my needs also. Something around 150 lumens with a decent run time on 2 AAs.

Im still new to the whole voltage thing but what i have come up with is that 1 AA is 1.5v, so 2 AAs would be 3v. so i need a drop in that can handle 3v. Is that right? sorry for the noob questions, im used to buying premade lights.

thanks

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just ordered a Solarforce L2r body but I have no idea what Im going to/should put in it. I would prefer to run it on lithium AAs as this will probably be going in the storm kit, i dont want to have to worry about charging since the power will most likely be out if i have to use it.

I was thinking of doing a 3 mode, but a single mode would probably suit my needs also. Something around 150 lumens with a decent run time on 2 AAs.

Im still new to the whole voltage thing but what i have come up with is that 1 AA is 1.5v, so 2 AAs would be 3v. so i need a drop in that can handle 3v. Is that right? sorry for the noob questions, im used to buying premade lights.

thanks

LED Dropins should state a voltage range. This will be a minimum where they drop out of regulation and a maximum that will probably damage the electronics. Exceeding this voltage slightly might make a superbright LED, or it might make an expensive paperweight of the dropin.

Usually you'll see range limits like .8v, 3v, 4.2v, 6v, 8.4v, and 18v. Multiples of 3 are meant to be used with primary CR123s, and multiples of 4.2 are for rechargeables. You'll want a dropin range that nicely brackets 3v. This will probably be a .8v to 4.2v dropin.