My 1st DIY Continuous Studio Light

muncheno

Newly Enlightened
For start, i would like apologies for my English.
I started this thread to share my 1st experience on DIY LED Light.

After reading the idea from marokero , I decided to make one as I won't able to own a proper studio light at the moment.

Marokero design is at this link:-
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/247826

I'm still a beginner/noob when come to both DIY LED & studio light, therefore welcome to put your comments and advise here.

For my DIY LED here, it cost me less than USD$25 and alot of own sweet time to build it. Here are the itemised list:-
1) 2 White 10Watt 700 lumens LED & 1 Warm White 10Watt 600 Lumens LED ~ USD$21 via Ebay
2) 3 x 1 Ohm (2watt) resistors ~ USD$1 via local electronic shop
3) screws for mounting LED and 1/4" bufferly screw for tripod mount & epoxy for the glue the tripod screws. ~ roughly around USD$3 via local hardware shop
4) AMD CPU heatsink and cooling fan ~ (Taken from my broken motherboard)
5) 12VDC adaptor, 3A (36Watt) ~ (Free, given by friend)
For the 33" umbrella and bracket, i brought it from Ebay for less than USD$13.

• The DIY LED is running on 12VDC, therefore it is able to run using 12V car battery or Lead/Pb battery.

• With 3 LEDs running the temperature will increase 33 Deg.C ambient to 51 Deg.C. This is measured using contact temperature sensor. Else if running 1 or 2 LEDs the temperature should be around 44 Deg.C. (Of course this is with the fan running).

• -If you were observing one of the picture in the album, there is a H1 LED bulb mounting at the side of the DIY LED cylinder. That is just an extra light for indication and also for me to focus under dark condition. My E-PL1 cant focus at total darkness. It is also running on 12VDC and attached via RCA adapter to DIY LED.