Rechargeable LED Flashlights That Charge In A Mount

JAS

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am just curious if the general consensus here is to disregard rechargeable flashlights that charge in a mount? I have been a cop for 30 years and I have seen an enormous improvement over the years in flashlights. I have certainly noticed posts here at CPF time and time again about the best lights for cops and I find it interesting that so many members seem to disregard lights that charge in a mount. Now I will be the first to admit that there are some great lights out there that don't charge in a cradle. And I fully understand that rechargeable batteries can be removed and used in flashlights, but I think many people are missing the point about the convenience and necessity of a charging cradle mounted in a vehicle. Granted, I don't work overnights anymore, but I do still work in the car the majority of my time and from my perspective, many fellow coppers in my area would think it is unusual for another officer to have a flashlight in which the batteries have to be removed to recharge. Maybe I am "old school", but I just think having the ability to charge the light in the car is huge. Again, that is not to say that having other non-rechargeable lights is a bad thing. I can think of an incident near me very recently in which there was a lost mother and step-son in a very large park. Not all that long into the incident, one of the details come out from people actively participating in the search was:

-rechargeable flashlights were dying,

-Motorola portable radio batteries were dying,

-Nextel/cell phone batteries were dying

As an aside, I have generally been an advocate of having spare rechargeable battery packs in the vehicle for radios, phones, and flashlights. For example, I carry both a VHF and UHF portable transceiver in my unmarked car. Each radio has a second battery pack. Usually each radio has a battery attached to it and I have a spare battery pack nearby.