Fenix TK45 Question.

ChevyGuy1987

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I am looking for a very bright flashlight to use while hunting and hiking. I was told the Fenix Tk45 was a good choice but I was wondering if there was a brighter flashlight of comparable size or if anyone custom builds something brighter? I am completely new to this and am completely open to suggestions. Thanks all.

Locoboy5150

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are brighter LED lights out there, both made by custom builders and from other companies. The Olight SR90 comes to mind as a good example.

But, when it comes to AA powered lights, the TK45 is currently the brightest one available. All the other ones are powered by other, less common batteries.

Brightness isn't everything though. The TK45 doesn't throw as far as a TK40 even though it is noticeably brighter but it does have a wider hot spot. Whether that matters or not all depends on what you want in a light.

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Don't forget, FEW flashlights are very bright for very long as the power required drains batteries within an hour or two. One exception is the Olight SR91 with it's whopping 10 hour runtime at 450 lumens. Jolly big light for hiking though. More than twice the weight of the TK45.

TK45 on turbo is dead at 2 hours, not a lot of time in hiking land. Still, you usually don't need all that light anyway as med and high are still more than enough to light your trail.

If you do choose the TK45 (or any other AA powered light), make sure you get yourself some Sanyo Eneloops and a smart charger.

If you don't mind big lights, Chris of Mac's Customs is making this as we speak. It should be a ripper of a light engine. Get a 3-4D mag and some of these.

HKJ

Flashaholic