Newb here! Help on choosing a budget LED flashlight.

kamayok3

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I am a newbie in flashlight. So, recently I've done a lot of research regarding LED flashlight that can use AA battery.

These are my top list of budgetary AA LED tactical flashlight:

1. Eagletac P20A2 MKII
2. Fenix LD20 R4
3. 4Sevens Quark AA2 Tactical R5 edition
4. your suggestion.............???:poke:

So, I hope experts here can guide me more.

Regards,

Tommy

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Tommy. I think you'll find any of those choices good, though I don't have any of these. All are good reliable brands. And, dealing with 4Sevens has always been trouble free. Don't forget the CPF8 discount code.

Geoff

joe1512

Enlightened
Those are good choices, but I think you are parrotting what you have read.

So, let me ask: What are YOU looking for in a flashlight. If you are like me, you probably don't know. So heres my thoughts:

1) You ideally want an XP-G emitter as this gives you maximum brightness. XP-E is decent too but not as bright. This is always labeled on the flashlight so is easy to determine.

2) You probably want multimode for different levels of brightness. Some like 1 mode, but most like the multiple ones. Especially for a small light which will get too hot on a really high mode.

3) Look at battery support. You will be using a rechargable NiMH most likely, or an ultimate lithium if you go non-rechargable. DO NOT use alkaline as their life is short and they might leak.
See if the light supports 14500s which is a special lithium ion rechargable. It runs at much higher voltage and boosts the brightness considerably! Having this as an option for the future is nice.