Fenix HL20 vs Zebralight 501W

barry1me

Newly Enlightened
Guys looking to get one of these lights to work for hunting/Camping I really like the Fenix as the cost is attractive and I know they make great lights. I know the Zebralight has excellent battery life which makes it attractive for camping. Thoughts?

Mathiashogevold

Enlightened
I would wait for the Zebralight H51!:) 200 lumen on 1xAA is great, for 0,9 hours. Should be here in a week or two? Much brighter than the others on one AA. I actually like the 501 better than HL20 :) you will be a happy camper with a Zebralight :)

ryanandty

Newly Enlightened
I have no experience with the fenix, but the h501w with the new UI is a most excellent, versatile flood light. It also has a great tint. Remember though, the h501w has no real throw, just enough to see about 30 - 40 ft in front of you (experienced night hikers chime in!), it's enough to see where you're going.

I imagine the ZL would be great around a campsite, as it lights up just about everything in your field of view with an equal amount of brightness.

skyfire

Flashlight Enthusiast
i love my H501w. great tint for outdoors. no experience with the HL20 though. the h501w is more than just a headlamp, its my most carried edc, and i never have it on my head. usually clipped to my front shirt pocket.

wait for the H51 to make a decision.

im waiting for a h51w:cool:

tedh

Newly Enlightened