ife1 nitecore only 1/2 hour run time ????

jv01

Newly Enlightened
i have a new nitecore ife1 smart ring. the manuel says 1 hour on high- i only get 1/2 hour. im using tenergy 3.0 volt rcr , i have ordered 3.6 volt rcr whats the diference in the two batterys other then voltage or is there a problem with the light . since im a noob , i did search but came up empty.:grin2:

Last edited:

romteb

Enlightened
Re: ifei nitecore only 1/2 hour run time ????

This is where a hobby charger might come in handy, you can measure the capacity of the cell with one of these, i've had some RCR123 measure 200mAh capacity (although they had been treated with care).

John_Galt

Flashlight Enthusiast

Well, AFAIK, most "3.0v" Li-ion (LiFePO4 excluded) batteries are actually 3.6v Li-ion's with a small pcb that drops the cell voltage at the terminals.

This process wastes energy, so while a "3.0v" Li-ion may state the same capacity as a regular 3.6v Li-ion cell, it will not have the same capacity.

Even 3.6v Li-ion cells do not match the capacity of a Primary cell. Yes, technically current draw will be slightly lower at the tailcap due to the higher voltage, but it still will not have the same capacity as a regular CR123a cell. A high quality CR123 is rated at ~14-1500mAh's, as opposed to a Li-ion RCR123/16340 which generally state ~750mAh capacity, but rarely achieve >600mAh.

Start using a primary cell, and you will definitely notice increased run times.

jv01

Newly Enlightened

Well, AFAIK, most "3.0v" Li-ion (LiFePO4 excluded) batteries are actually 3.6v Li-ion's with a small pcb that drops the cell voltage at the terminals.

This process wastes energy, so while a "3.0v" Li-ion may state the same capacity as a regular 3.6v Li-ion cell, it will not have the same capacity.