Any scanner listeners out there?

webley445

Flashlight Enthusiast
I like to monitor public safety on my trunking scanner. Anyone else out there have a scanner that they like to monitor?
Here's some topic starters:
What do you listen too/for?
What kind of systems are in your area?
What are you using?
What is the funniest, most serious, amazing thing you have monitored?

I listen to county wide Fire Department and Sheriff/Police.
There use a Motorola type 2 system that they are currently upgrading to Smart Zone. I am not as heavy duty into it as some of the locals on the yahoo scanner forum formed by those who live in my area, but I'm not a novice either.
I use a Rat Shack Pro-92. Lots of the local buffs thumb their noses at this model, but it works fine for my purposes, about to pick up a second one. Also by state law it is illegal to monitor from a vehicle with a "permanently mounted" scanner unless you have a ham radio license, but a portable unit is ok if you are un licensed [go figure]. And my unit is a portable hand held that is AC/DC powered. Nothing extra arieal wise, but I did get an enhanced mini antennae for 800 mhz that seems to help some [MAX 800].

I have been monitoring for years and have overheard so many things I couldn't list them all. Have heard car chases, shoot outs, firemen while they are inside a structure fighting a blaze, some undercover ops, an occasional swat exercise or operation, barricaded subject once. Hear the med choppers on a regular basis. I hate listening to the paramedics med calls to hospitals, sometimes too gross. Will not monitor until later in the day or evening on holidays for it is most depressing hearing the calls, especially on Christmas morning. And there is always some idiots [usually younger folk] that get into bad car accidents in the wee hours of holiday mornings.