LEO'S: How useful is strobe in the "real world"?

brightnorm

Flashaholic
I've heard everything from stunning to useless. Is it really better than a steady very bright light aimed directly at the subject's eyes? Is there any additional advantage, perhaps a moment of surprise, indecision, vulnerability? What about strobe rates that can supposedly trigger an epilectic fit or severe disorientation?

Brightnorm

Eddie-M

Newly Enlightened
I'll be the first to voice my opinion. I work in a factory invironment with the loud drone of converyor belts and orange vapor lighting. I have used my strobe on more than one occasion to catch someones attention vs yelling at the top of my lungs or using air time over the radio system. So for me, its usefull. Also being immature, I like to strobe people in the face every now and then, I won't lie, it makes me happy ;)

workingmids

Newly Enlightened
It varies widely.

Mostly effective at causing a mental processing pause sometimes imbalance, rarely submission, which most focused criminals can train through. Similarities to the effect of tasers can be drawn; don't rely on it, though it is often helpful. The don't tase me bro mantra is based on the individuals experiences with failure to comply - example, our department only allows use of laser aimed tasers to encourage compliance without having to engage with the taser when possible, as a result our regular problem children know the sequence of the drill, and often submit, of course a few see it as test of their manhood... Departments and options vary widely, with known or susupected armed subjects we might use any non-lethal device is simultaneously covered with lethal coverage. We are required of course to use handheld not weapon mounted lights unless its a felony stop.