Which flashlight to buy?

rebelx

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone!

I am a newb in the world of flashlighting and don't understand most of the posts here let alone their titles!! :thinking:

I need a flashlight/headlamp (combo if possible but seperate otherwise).

The main purpose is to aid dawn and sunset photography. (in Sydney Australia)

The headlamp needs to be small, reasonable power, (bonus adjustable beam) and work with AA (less preferable AAA) batteries. I don't need too much run time as I can recharge batteries before a shoot which usually will use the headlamp for max of 1 hour or so.

The flashlight needs to be durable, very powerful if possible (more than 300-400 lumes), run on AA and preferably have a clip, and need to only run for 2 hours or so max. I can recharge before each shoot.

My budget is around $40-50 for each. Do tell me if I am expecting too much for this budget. Durability would be nice but I only will be using these on a weekly basis for a few hours each episode so not a huge deal. Some deal of water resistance would be great also as there is a chance of sea spray when I galliwant around the beaches....

I bought an ebay light with 76 LEDs one year ago which to it's credit is still running on the original non-rechargable batteries purchased for it!! I have dropped and broken this.

I am simply bewildered by the amount of choice out there and was a little suspicious of the headlamps on ebay which say "Q5 CREE 300 lumen" only costing $10 delivered.

On the same token, I don't want to pay hundreds for a dud where I couldn't have got 10 lights instead.

Thanks again for reading this as well as any suggestions!

mcnair55

Flashlight Enthusiast