MTE M3-2i Driver swap

mfilippello

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I do not have many post on here. I mostly try and do research when I can. I am new to this so please bear with me. I have a MTE M3-2i that I purchased from the dealer here in the US. It is not one of the ones from DX. It has a Cree MC-E LED and is 6 mode. It is supposed to put out 740 lumens but I know that is overly optimistic. I have tried searching for reviews of this model but get nothing in the search engine. It seems that there isn't much about MTE. I find that hard to believe but putting MTE in the search engine gets 0 hits. The google one does a little better, but I am trying to find out if anyone has upgraded the driver in one of these and if so how hard was it. The light seems well made to me but I can not tell how to remove the pill. I am not sure if it is pressed, glued, or screwed in. I was considering buying the shiningbeam mc-e 8x7135 3 mode driver that puts out 2.8a on high. Here is what I found out so far for my light.

1) I took the tailcap off and measured the amps at the rear of the battery. with a 18650 laptop cell from an old Toshiba I had. I get 1.78a with a 3.96v charged battery. I tried 2 cr123 primaries and got 2.0a but it quickly dropped down to 1.75 or so as well but seemed to slowly keep falling. Will a high drain battery like an AW make a difference in this scenario?

2) what is the best driver right now for a single 18650 powered MC-E. I really don't understand buck vs linear. my charger charges my batteries to 4.2v. would the shiningbeam be a good choice? I only want to run one 18650.

3) how the hell do I get this model apart without destroying it? anybody do one?

4) how many more lumens should I expect with the 2.8a driver? what is the proper way to test what I have going on now?

Mike

Mathiashogevold

Enlightened