Mini-Review of Quark Mini123

nickdolin

Newly Enlightened
I'm not an expert by any means but I feel the need to write up my impressions of my newly received light from goinggear.com.

Upon opening the box, I realized how small this little light is. After installing the provided battery and waiting until dark I went outside and turned on this little torch.

The beam is floody which isn't a surprise considering a small head and the xp-g Led. After aiming the light at various structures/trees and walking around the yard I've come to appreciate a floody beam. For the most part of a year I've primarily used a M1X which obviously is nothing like this light.

The beam doesn't really have a well defined hot-spot nor a corona around what hot spot there is. Obviously, there is a good amount of spill/flood that can light up a significant amount of area immediately in front of you. Even with the concentration being biased toward flood, it wasn't much of a problem shining on a house around 100ft away with plain sheer power of the R5. The hot spot (if you wanna call it that) is actually somewhat neutral in color (while white walling) while the spill is cooler.

The UI is very easy and even my fiance figured it out within a minute or two. The build quality isn't "tank" like but that wasn't expected with a light this small/light. But overall quality is very good, with a centered LED, good anodizing, nice knurling, etc etc.

Long story short... I've never had a "small" light nor a floody light but I can see why some people are "flooders" as they are more useful/practical (IMHO). The light is well made, looks good, has good modes, simple UI, super bright for a super small 1 123 cell light. Overall I love it! I can't wait to go up in the mountains and really get to try it out. Btw, I should have in a new light tomorrow (for my Fiance) as I got her a ITP A1 SS.:thumbsup:

Last edited:

Hellbore

Enlightened
Congrats on the new light!