Which Malkoff? M61 or M60LF?

CPFBiology

Enlightened
For your purposes, which would you rather have, the Malkoff M61 or the M60LF?

For walking in the woods at night, travelling along paths, etc... would it be best to get an M61, or an M61L? Does the M61L provide enough light for this purpose?

Last edited:

Kestrel

Flashaholic
No comparison IMO. M61, preferably the M61W. I've been using various Malkoff's almost exclusively for nearly the last three years and I think the new/updated design is just tops.

I could write more, but I'm not sure what aspect(s) you consider important - there are a fair number of differences between these two modules and I don't know what specific features you're looking for.

CPFBiology

Enlightened
Well, for each, they have good advantages.

The M61 is bright, and has decent run times. And the M60LF is decently bright, and has great runtime.

Now, I am trying to consider if I can get by with 140 lumens, or if I need the extra 100 or so lumens, but with much reduced run time.

I compared two flashlights, one at around 240 lumens, and the other at around 140 lumens. This is around 100 lumens difference, but to my eyes, it only "seems" like a 5-10% difference in brightness. Is that more or less the case in your view with the M61 and the M60LF? If I could get buy with less lumens, the lower output and better runtime model may be better for me. What do you think?

JNewell

Flashlight Enthusiast
No offense intended, but they are so different that you need to figure out what YOU need and want and reboot the question...both are excellent. The sale price on the LF makes it a steal, but that doesn't help if you need a different drop-in.

CPFBiology

Enlightened
Since the CPFers are more the experts, or have had experience with each of these assemblies, which would be ideal for putting into a SF 6P host for the purpose of lighting the way through a dark path, like through the woods?