Help me chose: Nightcore Extreme vs Sunwayled M10R

CDPMan

Newly Enlightened
I am in the market for a new single CR123 led EDC light. I am a law enforcement officer working a plain clothes assignment and need a light that I can clip to my belt or pocket and have with me whenever I need it. A few of the guys I work with have the Surefire E1B and its nice, but its expensive and only 110 lumens. I have looked at a lot of the single CR123 lights out there and have come down to the Nightcore Extreme and the Sunwayled M10R. Both have what I am looking for; small size, high light output and pocket clip. Both are resonably priced in the $70 range. Let me know what you guys think my best bet would be!

jtblue

Newly Enlightened
I don't have either of the two but after reading a review of the M10R, I'd pick it over the nitecore.

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/283132&highlight=m10r

Also take note that surefire's stated lumens are very conservative, for instance my Surefire 6P puts out 120 lumens but has comparable output to my Fenix TK10 which puts out 225 lumens. There are more then a few manufacturers out there that like to play number games but as long as you buy from good brands familiar to CPFers, then you probably won't get burned.

Kilovolt

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have both and I vote for the Nitecore. It has two levels one of which can be easily programmed while the M10R has too much difference between low and medium while medium is too near to maximum. In practice I consider M10R a single level light cause I am only able to use medium.

krayman

Newly Enlightened
My vote will go to M10R, the overall quality is over Nitecore. My only complain is the serious ringy beam pattern.

Last edited:

MR.A

Newly Enlightened
nitecore extreme.

chef4850

Enlightened
Nitecore Extreme! Here is why

1). Better UI - fully programable :twothumbs
2). Better build quality - at least I think. I gave a way my M10R the day after I purchased it.