If you could have only ONE Quark....

dov717

Newly Enlightened
Hello newbie here, I would like to buy ONE flashlight to replace my old mini-mag. I am sold on the AA Quarks but am confused as to whether i should go one AA or two, tactical or not, warm, neutral, etc. I would greatly appreciate a little gudance. Thanks!

skyfire

Flashlight Enthusiast
i have a few quarks, and quark minis, and my favorite is the 123-2 Tactical in neutral tint (i think i would like the warm tint more, but i have enough quarks):eek:

if you want 2xAA, the quark AA-2 is one of the best.
for 1xAA, i would go with something else over the quark AA. also, if you want a neutral or warm quark AA you will have to get an extra body.

actually how about buying either the neutral or warm quark AA-2, and a single AA body. then you can have both.

the neutral/warm tints have less lumens, but render much better, and just looks more natural, especially for outdoor enviornments

tactical or regular interface is up to you, i like tactical because its more simple. and i dislike cycling through modes. reprogramming a mode on the tactical only takes about 20 seconds. but if you use max, and moonlight most, regular makes alot of sense. i have my tactical set to max, and medium, with regular reverse clicky for tailstanding.

theres a really great thread that breaks down all the quark models, and the different combinations you can do with them, breaks down all types of battery options, runtimes, brightness, beam patterns. just a great thread. i cant remember the title, but if you do a search im sure you can find it.

OCD

Enlightened
DANG skyfire! You beat me too it!!

Tactical vs. regular and warm vs. neutral are probably the toughest choices IMHO. As for 1xAA vs 2xAA etc., this is were quarks shine. You can buy which ever one you like best, say 2xAA and then buy just the battery tubes if you decide you want to make it 1xAA, 1xCR123 or 1x18650.