Explain voltage to me

TwinBlade

Enlightened
I am a machinist with mechanical inclination. Electrical stuff just makes my head hurt so pardon my ignorance.

I took out my volt meter and measured the voltage on some CR123 batteries. They came in at 3.28v or 6.54v when running 2 in, say, my Fenix TK12. Now, my TK12 is reported to take an 18650 battery. I went on Battery Junction to price out a charger and a couple of these 18650 batteries when it dawned on me...they are only 3.7 volts.

This got me to thinking, how can my light still be as bright and last longer on lower voltage and lower Mah (2600 vs 2800 total on 2 CR123's)? I mean, I would imagine that if the CR123's dropped down to 3.7v total, I would have a pretty dim light...

Right?

I dunno.

joe1512

Enlightened
Voltage is like the pressure from the source of your garden hose.
Resistance is how skinny your hose is. The more resistance, the harder it is to get water through it.
Amperage is the water flow itself.

Have you ever used a garden hose attachment? Or simply used your finger to make the water shoot further?
What you have done is acted as a voltage converter. Instead of a bunch of water dribbling out the hose, you now have a lesser amount of water spewing out a lot faster. I.e. you are drawing more amperage to boost your effective voltage.
Ok, my example is starting to fall apart but you get the idea.

Most good flashlights are voltage regulated. Many power emitters have about a 3 volt Vf or forward voltage. They then use a resistor to limit the current. However, they can accept a range of input voltage and then increase or decrease it in order to get the right forward voltage.

If you have a 1.5 volt battery, in order to get 200 lumens out of your XP-G, you will need to transform it to about 3 volts. The price of doing so is that instead of sucking 1 Amp, the transformation now means you suck TWO amps from the battery at 1.5 volts to equal 1 Amp at 3.0 Volts.