Powering a 20W LED with Laptop Battery

candle_thrower

Newly Enlightened
Hi -- I'm a noob and this is my first project, so be nice about chastising me. I bought a 5pack of 20W 1500lum LEDs on ebay. Each module is about 2 sq inch rectangle with a metal mounting plate and 20 tiny 1W leds. Not knowing anything about LED driving when I bought these, I assumed I could just hook it to a battery and be done. Then my friend told me I would need a constant current circuit to avoid burning the LED out. The battery I plan to use is from my laptop.

LED Characteristics:
20 W
11 V
1.82 A

Battery Characteristics:
5000 mAh
6 cells
?? W max
11 V
?? A max

I've searched, and I can't find exactly what I'm looking, and that's why I'm posting:

(1) I see BuckPucks that are almost what I need but only go up to 1A.
(2) I see lots of modules on DealExtreme that are all made for 120V household AC.
(3) This instructable (link to circuit schematic): http://www.instructables.com/id/Pow...t-with-constant-current/step2/Specs-Function/

>>> SO... What configuration would you suggest to power this LED? Is there a pre-built power module that could help me?

Some other possible questions to answer:
1. Is there anything I'm badly misunderstanding about powering LEDs?
2. Can you share a good explanation of the reason for needing constant-current circuitry?
3. What's inside a BuckPuck or other commercial power module?
4. Is there a big problem with using the simple circuit in (3) Instructable above?
5. What's the simplest thing that could work, and the most complicated thing?

beizebopp

Newly Enlightened
Im having the exact same dilemma?sp

20w led and a laptop battery. I was thinking i could simply make it constant current with a resistor although its wastefull. Apparently it isnt a good way to do it.

Ive read a good way is to make a constant current circuit with a bjt transformer or just use a dc-dc constant current driver.

Hope someone can explain the best way to do it.